Detroit Sports and More

Detroit Area Sports and the Great Outdoors

Desperation For Money Shows up in 2009 Michigan Hunting and Trapping Guide

Posted by detroitsportsandmore on August 8, 2009

Let me preface this by saying I don’t get into politics very often, although I certainly pay attention.

I was at K D Outdoors in Waterford, MI (which is a great local shop) today and picked up the 2009 Michigan Hunting and Trapping Guide. My son later picked up the Guide because he saw wheels and tires from an add on the back page. He’s young and loves trucks. I wasn’t sure what paper he had grabbed so I turned it over.

The Michigan Hunting and Trapping Guide?

In total I counted 22 adds, not including the Classifieds section. I admittedly am torn. It is great to see such resourcefulness from the Department of Natural Resources, however, it is also a deeply disturbing reminder of how much money has been diverted away from the DNR.

The truth of the matter is that hunters and fishermen pay for the vast majority of the DNR budget. License sales for these outdoorsmen have become increasingly costly over the years, while parks, ramps, and piers are being shut down.

Money from the general fund is now the equivalent of bringing home one 6″ Bluegill to feed my family of four.

It is quite odd to me that people that bike on park trails, camp on state land, pleasure boat on lakes, mushroom hunt on state land, enjoy photography, and the list goes on, do not share the same financial responsibility.

Do they deserve to use land more than the rest of us?

My point is the way things are running is so far off from common sense it is almost sickening.

I applaud the ingenuity of the DNR, harnessing the power of marketing to supplement an important program, I do not see why such measures have now become necessary.

Everyone always wants a hand out or something for free, seems like outdoors-men( and women) are the only ones willing to put the burden on our shoulders. If more interest groups had this mentality, the state would undoubtedly be in much better shape.

I applaud my fellow hunters and fishermen and women, your commitment to the resources of this great state are commendable, appreciated, and vastly undervalued.

One Response to “Desperation For Money Shows up in 2009 Michigan Hunting and Trapping Guide”

  1. Great site, I now have you bookmarked to come back again.

Leave a Reply

 
