Detroit Sports and More

Detroit Area Sports and the Great Outdoors

More Spring Fishing

Posted by detroitsportsandmore on May 18, 2009

Shore brush, great for fishing....

Trying something different.....one of my favorite species in Michigan.

Trying something different.....one of my favorite species in Michigan.

A few pictures from some of my favorite lakes in Oakland County, MI. The picture to the left is a beautiful spring pumpkin seed and the right is some great shore line structure on a lake I grew up on. The lake isn’t pretty and that’s part of what makes it so much fun to fish.

If you look closely you can see a stump on the bottom of the right picture. The lake is full of wood and tires.

The fish on the left was taken on an ultra light spinning rod. The lure is a bit unusual. I used an ice fishing teardrop style jig and slid it inside a micro panfish tube, about 3/4″ long in total. Tipped with a Gulp! waxxie it will catch Gills, Perch, Bass, Crappie, and more. It’s a lot of fun to mix things up every now and then.

With Memorial day coming I hope to get a couple of my friends out on the water, Memorial Day and Independence Day are usually when I go out with my Dad but he’s out of town this year. Hopefully in a few years the tradition can include my son, Cullen, shown here ready for an airsoft battle.

Watch out!

Watch out!

Leave a Reply

 
